Jeffrey Bernard “Low Life”

“One of the things I loathed most about school, the army and regular employment was the feeling that I was missing something and that in the pubs, clubs, cafés, dives … there was some sort of magic practice that I wasn”t able to conjure with… the base of operation I chose was Soho. I’d been there before in the school holiday when my brother, a student at St Martin’s School of Art, asked me up for coffee one day. It was instant magic to me, a sort of Disneyland for low-lifers. There was a café they used that was full of artists , poets, amateurs and professional philosophers… It was heaven.”

Jeffrey Bernard “Low Life” 1986

/x/details.png
About Drakakis

Street Poet scribbling to your tired, your poor, your huddled masses; the wretched refuse of your teeming shore, the homeless, tempest-tost ...
Aside | This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

