George Orwell: ‘Down and Out in Paris and London’

My story ends here. It is a fairly trivial story, and I can only hope that it has been interesting in the same way as a travel diary is interesting. I can at least say, Here is the world that awaits you if you are ever penniless.

⁜          ⁜          ⁜

I shall never again think that all tramps are drunken scoundrels, nor expect a beggar to be grateful when I give him a penny, nor be surprised if men out of work lack energy,  nor pawn my clothes, nor refuse a handbill, nor enjoy a meal at a smart restaurant. That is a beginning.

English: George Orwell's signature.

 George Orwell: ‘Down and Out in Paris and London’.

About Drakakis

Street Poet scribbling to your tired, your poor, your huddled masses; the wretched refuse of your teeming shore, the homeless, tempest-tost ...
Aside | This entry was posted in Literature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to George Orwell: ‘Down and Out in Paris and London’

  1. I have been surfing online greater than three hours as of late, yet I by
    no means discovered any fascinating article like yours.

    It’s pretty price enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content as you did, the net can be a lot more helpful than ever before.

    My pleasure, entirely. Writing is therapy.

Leave a Reply

