Children of the Revolution

I was feeling a bit discouraged this morning after scanning the news and trolling the various cybernooks and crannies that I troll for this stuff.  Far too many candidates for Brickbats.  I desperately needed to throw a Bouquet.

And there was Hannah.  (No, not that one).  Give me an army of 15 year-olds unbowed by cynicism and let’s get this revolution started!

Δρακακισ


Hi Everyone

My name is Hannah Taylor. I am 15 years old and when I was 8, I started The Ladybug Foundation to help the homeless. Ladybugs are good luck and they are my mascot.

Let me tell you why I care about the homeless and why we all must care about people without a home.

When I was 5 years old my mom and I saw a man eating out of a garbage can. I was very sad and felt sick about it. I asked my mom why he had to do that. I talked to my mom about homelessness a lot. Why, Why, Why I asked. If everybody shared what they had would that cure homelessness?

Then I started school and one day when I was going to school, I saw another homeless person. Everything she had was in one grocery cart. Now my heart was too sad.

That night before I went to bed I wished I could cure homelessness. Everybody needs a home. I love my home. My mom told me that sometimes when you worry and feel sad about things, if you do something to change the problem, your heart won’t feel so sad. She was right. I don’t worry so much anymore because I know I can help and so can you.

Over the past five years, I have learned a lot about homelessness and I have had the chance to teach people about homelessness. I have talked to thousands of people. I believe that if people know about homelessness – that there are people living without a home – they will want to help.

They sure have. Lots of people have listened and helped in a million ways. Companies, schools, groups and organizations from all over Canada have invited me to speak to them about The Ladybug Foundation, hunger and homelessness and how they can help.

You can email us at ladybugfund@shaw.ca and find out more about how I can come and work with you.

Hannah’s Blog

About Drakakis

Street Poet scribbling to your tired, your poor, your huddled masses; the wretched refuse of your teeming shore, the homeless, tempest-tost ...
This entry was posted in Brickbats & Bouquets, Portraits, Public Awareness, Women, Youth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

